PDA

View Full Version : Lost pictures.


Aragarthiel
05-11-2015, 02:11 AM
My daughter spent the night at my grandparents' last night, and today they took her to have professional pictures done for her upcoming first birthday. They took a few copies for themselves, then gave us the rest, along with the disk they include featuring all of the pictures that were taken (not just the printed ones, and if you want print-outs of the disk photos you have to go back in and pay for them, so the disk is an extra source of income).

The printed photos were fantastic and I was excited to see more, so I popped the disk into my computer.

IT'S TOTALLY BLANK. :cry:

I wouldn't be so upset about this if it weren't for the fact that they don't store pictures on a server. They put them on the disk and keep no copies for themselves. So they either deleted all of the pictures forever, or they have our disk floating around somewhere in the studio. They're closed tomorrow and the day after but my grandma's taking the disk back on Wednesday.

Here's to hoping we get our pictures.

RootedPhoenix
05-11-2015, 09:43 AM
I hope you get them. :( *hugs you*

Aragarthiel
05-12-2015, 03:29 AM
This sort of resolved itself.

It turns out, there were two disks and my grandparents kept one. They went ahead and copied it for us.

Crisis averted.

Seanette
05-12-2015, 05:46 AM
Whew! Glad that worked out.

prjkt
05-15-2015, 11:10 AM
Yikes, you'd think they'd keep soft-copies of the photos for at least 7-30 days...

wolfie
05-15-2015, 03:54 PM
Disk space is cheap, so you'd think the studio would keep copies for a while (possibly in a tree sorted first by date and then by customer, to make "pruning" easier). Then, instead of deleting, archive it to DVD-R.

The way they're doing it, the customer can NEVER get prints beyond what they originally ordered. After all, the studio pictures are clearly professional, and photo places tend to not make prints of those due to copyright reasons. Since the studio has deleted its copy, the customer can't re-order.

Aragarthiel
05-15-2015, 04:16 PM
The way they're doing it, the customer can NEVER get prints beyond what they originally ordered. After all, the studio pictures are clearly professional, and photo places tend to not make prints of those due to copyright reasons. Since the studio has deleted its copy, the customer can't re-order.

That's what the disk is for. You take it in, point out which pictures you want printed, and their software removes the built-in watermark thingy that keeps you from printing them at home. If you spring for the expensive packages (like $250+), you get a disk that has the copyrights to the pictures included so you can print them at home or at a photo kiosk or whatever. Only the cheapest two or three packages ($35-ish) don't include a disk at all.

Reyneth
05-19-2015, 12:35 PM
I know what company you are talking about and worked for them for a time (Hell. On. Earth.).

When I was there (which was 10 years ago, I admit), stuff would usually stay on the server for about a week. Usually. But customers were never told that, part of the high-pressure sales tactic to get people to spend a minimum of $100 every time they were there. Good times. :(