This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WiFi router

OK I am a total novice when it comes to this stuff. I want to get a WiFi router. I want the router option because I want to hard wire my PC into the router but have the WiFi option for my phone and maybe my TV and provide WiFi to guests I have over or who are temp staying with me.

I do have the option to have my cable company activate WiFi BUT that will cost more $$s per month and I kinda want to try and avoid that if I can.

Any decent suggestions at a reasonable price?
    I'm lost without a paddle and headed up SH*T creek.
    -- Life Sucks Then You Die.

"I'll believe corp. are people when Texas executes one."

Maybe your existing cable router has built-in WiFi that they simply disabled, and will only re-enable for a fee? Wi-Fi isn't actually a service they can offer; either your router has wireless connectivity or it doesn't.

Do you have the login info needed to get into your router settings? It's often on a sticker on the side of the unit. You may be able to turn it on yourself.

As for the setup you describe: Literally do that. Plug your computer into an available LAN port via a CAT5 (or whatever) cable, and use wi-fi to connect everything else.
    "For a musician, the SNES sound engine is like using Crayola Crayons. Nobuo Uematsu used Crayola Crayons to paint the Sistine Chapel." - Jeremy Jahns (re: "Dancing Mad")
    "The difference between an amateur and a master is that the master has failed way more times." - JoCat
    "Thinking is difficult, therefore let the herd pronounce judgment!" ~ Carl Jung
    "There's burning bridges, and then there's the lake just to fill it with gasoline." - Wiccy, reddit
    "Retail is a cruel master, and could very well be the most educational time of many people's lives, in its own twisted way." - me