This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NOT happy about this...My opinion shot down again

Ok, as many of you know, I work as a software developer.

Well, we also use an Agile methodology when developing our software.

Well, today, another of my opinions was shot down, because to paraphrase "It's not what the business wants".

Well, guess what: What the business wants isn't always the best solution! My solution has less redundancy, and met the requirements better than what was originally proposed! And it was cleaner! I was told, "yours is not to judge...", to which I replied, "I'm simply offering my opinion of what I think is a better solution."

But no, the PM thinks that my solution would make things "too crowded" in one column.

I should have really asked why "the business" wants it that way.

I kept my cool in the meeting, but man am I steamed about this.

It makes me want to stop speaking up.
    Skilled programmers aren't cheap. Cheap programmers aren't skilled.

Last year, at the local Linux Fest I attended a session on Agile, it seemed very interesting.

Are you ideas consistently shut down, because that would be annoying. And from what I remember, not in line with Agile.
    Replace anger management with stupidity management.

Comment

Quoth notalwaysright View Post
      Last year, at the local Linux Fest I attended a session on Agile, it seemed very interesting.

Are you ideas consistently shut down, because that would be annoying. And from what I remember, not in line with Agile.
      I've had a couple shut down before.

But I think in this case, the Product Manager should have at least taken the suggestion back to "the business" and presented it as "Here's a suggestion one of our developers made..."

And then if they didn't like it, explain why instead of the way things went.

I have a feeling at some point they're not going to like the way that they want it, and want to eventually change it to my suggestion.