This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Evaluations being done on a daily basis at work

I work at the front end as a cashier for a major grocery store chain, and for the past 2 months, the cashiers and courtesy clerks/baggers have been evaluated several times by different Front End Supervisors and Managers as well as the Store Manager. These evaluations are done in writing. There is a form that they use to evaluate everyone.

I have been working for my employer since 2016.

Several of my co-workers have been there longer than I have.

Then there are some co-workers who have not the been there as long as I have been there as well as my other co-workers.

A courtesy clerk/bagger who just began last week was evaluated a couple of days after he started work.

So far I have been evaluated three times by the Assistant Front End Manager, once by the Store Manager and once by the Lead Bookkeeper in this order.

So far my evaluations have been good.

Why would my employer be doing this?

Finding the worst employees in order to start the process of firing them?

Comment

Agreed with Simon, that seems the most logical explanation.
      I'm trying to see things from your point of view, but I can't get my head that far up my keister!

Who is John Galt?
      -Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

Comment

I have some possible scenarios.

Best one : They are checking to see what the best workers do so it can become standard procedure or training for the less efficient or new employees.

Second one : They are rating the employees from best to least efficient in the different job tasks and are preparing fire some of them (likely, as Simon and taxguykarl said).

As if that would happen one : Best employees get a bonus.
        It's not the years in you life that count, it's the life in your years! - Quote from the office coffee cup.

Comment

Sounds like a hostile work environment to me, getting evaluated every 5 minutes.