Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sorry, I'm a what for protecting your credit?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sorry, I'm a what for protecting your credit?

This involves the first words of the original Star Wars rolling text:

A long time ago in a [mall] far, far away...

I was working my first retail job. I'd been there a month, maybe two. Guy comes in and picks some games out (I worked in a shop that sold games and puzzles, that's it - minorly irrelevant, but anyway). He comes up to the register. I ring up his sale, and he hands me his credit card. I run the card and hand him the slip to sign, which he does. Up to here, just basic, "Find everything OK?" "Yeah" "Total is..." conversation, neutral interaction, just two drones processing the transaction. As I take the signature slip, I check the card signature against the one on the slip.

Guy asks why I checked, so I told him the truth: "I have to."

He pops a gasket, throws a gear and says, "You have long hair, too, you -nut!"

My manager offered me some advice after that: tell them 'It's to protect you (the customer) from credit card fraud.' My advice to everyone else: when you're actually handed the card, swipe it, then, hold it signature facing you over the receipt printout. This lets you check the signature without being obvious.

----

Another credit card nugget of wisdom: some names may traditionally be used for one gender, but that doesn't mean the other gender can't use them. I once had a customer who was really awesome about this. I asked for an ID because it looked like she was using her husband's car. She showed me her ID and said she got that all the time. Her name was Christopher.