This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• You are not a good tech if....

OK, there are some good techs and some not-so-good ones. I have found one way to measure their competence level is look at what software/hardware they recommend to their clients.

A person is NOT a good tech if:

He/she recommends using Internet Explorer over Firefox or Opera. Now I know using a 3rd party browser won't exactly make you invincible, but at least it's won't let everything in like IE which is known as the "open door." And don't tell me about IE 7 - it's basically version 6 with a new skin. Oh and BTW, I know by default Firefox can't access certain web pages but that's fixed by installing the IEtab extention.

He/she recommends using Norton Internet Security instead of something better. I have been a tech for 6 years (2 with the company I am with now) and I am amazed at how many times I have to remove this piece of crap software to fix a customer's issue. Version 2006 was a blatant embarrassment to the company, and 2007 isn't much better. Mcafee is also following in the same path. Instead of Norton, there is NOD32, AVG, Antivir, Kaspersky, or F-secure. Any of those are much better alternatives.

He/she recommends ANY Lexmark printer. Yeah, the printer only costs $80. Wait 'till you have to buy the ink. By contrast, a $150 Canon printer not only delivers better quality, but it's ink is a LOT less expensive and lasts much longer. In short, the money you saved will be lost very, very quickly.

He/she recommends a Dell PC "for the support." Dell PCs are actually pretty good (just not the low-end ones!), but trying to get a tech you can actually understand is worse than trying to get a date with Evangeline Lily.