X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Selling Textbooks

Hi all,

I'm seeking a bit of advice about selling my textbooks, I have put it in the Off topic section, but if it should be in Life Advice (I wasn't sure), mods, please feel free to move it.

I finished my degree 2 years ago and still have some textbooks I bought for it. I don't need them, use them and they are gathering dust on my shelves. I'm looking to sell them but not sure where best to do it. I have thought about Ebay and Amazon but have never sold from them.

Can anyone suggest anything? I'm grateful for anything

Thank you guys

They may be out of date if they are two years old; it depends on the class and what edition the book is in. The textbook publishers are putting out new editions every couple of years to force students to buy new rather than used books.

I'd try Amazon over eBay. Look up the books to see what they are selling for and try to sell them for around the same price. You'll get more than at the college book store or a company that specializes in used textbooks, but may not get much more depending on what edition the book is in and how much demand there is for that particular text.

Sorry
    They say that God only gives us what we can handle. Apparently, God thinks I'm a bad ass.

Comment

There's also half.com. I used to sell all my books through there.

If you have any contact with current students (even through posting something on a bulletin board), you can usually sell old edition books for more than you can get online.

Comment

Amazon is your best bet, most likely at this point. I say this because, ebay and amazon both let you sell to other people, but Amazon allows you to sell directly TO Amazon straightaway, so there's no waiting for a buyer. At least this is something they've introduced in recent years.

If you were in the US, I'd PM you my old company, and you could look for a nearby store, they usually have fair prices.

Comment