Go Back   Customers Suck! > The Heart of the Site > Unsupportable > Tech help

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

  #21  
Old 03-01-2019, 04:33 AM
SteeleDragon78's Avatar
SteeleDragon78 SteeleDragon78 is offline
Newly minted cs BOFH
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: the end of the trail in oklahoma
Posts: 549
Default

Quote:
Quoth lordlundar View Post
If the manufacturer of both the HDD and the SSD are the same, you might to check their website for a drive management app. Western Digital for example has a free, albeit reduced functionality of Arconis TrueImage on their website. I had just a couple days ago used it to clone my HDD to a higher capacity one with no issues.
sadly, the drives were from different manufacturers. The HDD was a WD while the SDD was Sandisk. I'm still looking for a good solution for m.2 drives, may have found one in a raspberry pi hat, but i havn't had a chance to test it yet.
__________________
This is a drama-free zone; violators will be slapped. -Irving Patrick Freleigh
my blog:http://steeledragon.wordpress.com/

  #22  
Old 03-01-2019, 04:33 PM
Naaman's Avatar
Naaman Naaman is offline
Bagger
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 20 minutes in the future
Posts: 802
Default

Quote:
Quoth SteeleDragon78 View Post
sadly, the drives were from different manufacturers. The HDD was a WD while the SDD was Sandisk. I'm still looking for a good solution for m.2 drives, may have found one in a raspberry pi hat, but i havn't had a chance to test it yet.
What are the problems you're running into? I'm intrigued now
__________________
Lady, people aren't chocolates. D'you know what they are mostly? Bastards. Bastard-coated bastards with bastard filling. Dr Cox - Scrubs

  #23  
Old 03-02-2019, 12:05 AM
Nunavut Pants's Avatar
Nunavut Pants Nunavut Pants is offline
Warning: He thinks he's funny.
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Quoth SteeleDragon78 View Post
sadly, the drives were from different manufacturers. The HDD was a WD while the SDD was Sandisk.
Check for new updates. WD bought Sandisk a few years ago; my wife worked for them at the time! They may now have compatibility tools.
__________________
“There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old’s life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged.
One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world.
The other, of course, involves orcs." -- John Rogers

  #24  
Old 03-04-2019, 05:12 AM
SteeleDragon78's Avatar
SteeleDragon78 SteeleDragon78 is offline
Newly minted cs BOFH
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: the end of the trail in oklahoma
Posts: 549
Default

Quote:
Quoth Naaman View Post
What are the problems you're running into? I'm intrigued now
The cloner i bought has 2 SATA3 slots, and an option for "one button cloning", its essentially an offline clone of the drive in slot A to slot B. I cannot be certain about the type of copy, if it is a bit for bit clone or just a hardware driven mass copy. Regardless, when i fired up the machine with the new SSD, windows showed the model and serial of the HDD rather than the SSD in device manager, and in the disc management section of admin tools.
__________________
This is a drama-free zone; violators will be slapped. -Irving Patrick Freleigh
my blog:http://steeledragon.wordpress.com/

  #25  
Old 03-07-2019, 10:57 PM
Naaman's Avatar
Naaman Naaman is offline
Bagger
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 20 minutes in the future
Posts: 802
Default

Not sure what type of copy it does and I don't think I've run into that problem.
Does it identify correctly in the BIOS\UEFI and have you looked at the drive in a partition manager?

Personally, I'd verify the old HDD is still fine and boots into Windows then with the SSD plugged in I'd try deleting the disk and IDE\ATA controllers from Device manager and reboot, making sure you've got the drivers for them. Worst case you can just clone the SSD from the HDD again...
__________________
Lady, people aren't chocolates. D'you know what they are mostly? Bastards. Bastard-coated bastards with bastard filling. Dr Cox - Scrubs

  #26  
Old 03-08-2019, 02:40 AM
SteeleDragon78's Avatar
SteeleDragon78 SteeleDragon78 is offline
Newly minted cs BOFH
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: the end of the trail in oklahoma
Posts: 549
Default

I just nuked it via gpartd (the SSD) and did a fresh install, then copied the needed folders over. was actually faster than the clone. i mainly picked it up for extracting user data for my freelancing. I considered using it for a freezer recovery, but its been really humid lately and i was worried about frost ingress.
__________________
This is a drama-free zone; violators will be slapped. -Irving Patrick Freleigh
my blog:http://steeledragon.wordpress.com/
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.