Go Back   Customers Suck! > Site News > Site News

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

  #51  
Old 04-03-2016, 03:35 PM
PrplPplEater's Avatar
PrplPplEater PrplPplEater is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Quoth XCashier View Post
I don't mind them too much, but I would rather not see that one with the gross swelling on the guy's chest. I keep reporting it, but it keeps showing up.
What is the Ad for? I'll take a look and see if I can remove it.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Velcro

  #52  
Old 04-03-2016, 03:44 PM
PrplPplEater's Avatar
PrplPplEater PrplPplEater is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Quoth Hibble View Post

P.S from experience 6-8months after signing up for ads on your site they start to become more tacky less welcome in content. pay attention to feedback around this time.

P.P.S to keep the running cost of the site lower provided you have the RAM on the server check the vbullletin tuning guides. huge difference in CPU load / query speed if MySQL if set-up right. PHP caching also helps.

I actively disallow certain types/categories of ads from being shown with the explicit intent of not permitting the more tacky Ads.

As for the config stuff... I'm holding off on that type of tuning until after I have functioning all the features that are supposed to be working. We have well more than enough ram(32GB) for most anything, so that's not a worry
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Velcro

  #53  
Old 04-04-2016, 01:23 PM
Lace Neil Singer's Avatar
Lace Neil Singer Lace Neil Singer is offline
Urge to kill, rising...
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 4,415
Default

Never saw any ads; then again, I do have Adblock enabled.
__________________
People who don't like cats were probably mice in an earlier life.
My DeviantArt.

  #54  
Old 04-05-2016, 03:30 PM
Mikkel's Avatar
Mikkel Mikkel is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Quoth PrplPplEater View Post
What sort of internet connection do you have?
Broadband, but shared with my neighbours. Speedtest.net says that I have at the moment (when everybody is just home from work and going online) 7.49 Mbps down, 3,95 up.

  #55  
Old 04-05-2016, 04:22 PM
PrplPplEater's Avatar
PrplPplEater PrplPplEater is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Quoth Mikkel View Post
Broadband, but shared with my neighbours. Speedtest.net says that I have at the moment (when everybody is just home from work and going online) 7.49 Mbps down, 3,95 up.
Well, I'd say that is well more than fast enough, for sure! That's roughly what I have at home and it definitely tends to load things just fine there, on most occasions.
The ads are served by Google's servers (it's just the javascript telling your browser to get the ads from them that is in our pages), so that should be plenty fast enough as well.

That said, I *HAVE* seen occasions where ads have taken longer than expected to load, but it typically isn't the norm; it's always been more of a once-in-a-while thing (and usually it seems to have been when there is something else going on like peak internet hours, or I have a movie downloading, etc..).
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Velcro

  #56  
Old 04-05-2016, 04:40 PM
PrplPplEater's Avatar
PrplPplEater PrplPplEater is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Quoth Kogarashi View Post
Hmm...I'm not seeing the ads on IE11, which doesn't have an AdBlock that I know of. I wouldn't mind having them on the site if they're discreet and it helps server costs, so does anyone know how I can make IE let them through for this site?
I am testing and posting this under IE11, and I'm seeing the Ads, so I know the browser does it. Inside a thread, there are only two ads - one at the very top, and one at the very bottom.

My thoughts are to check to make sure JavaScript is enabled - Google loads the Ads via JavaScript, and also to check to see what Add-Ons you have enabled - there may be something in there blocking without you even knowing.

Can you see Ads anywhere on other sites??
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Velcro

  #57  
Old 04-05-2016, 06:03 PM
Lovecats's Avatar
Lovecats Lovecats is offline
Store Manager
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 541
Default

Quote:
Quoth Lace Neil Singer View Post
Never saw any ads; then again, I do have Adblock enabled.
I have it, too, but I did see the ads briefly at the beginning. But they are gone now.
__________________
"They gave me a badge with my name on it. In case I forget who I am." Dr Who - Closing Time

"I reject your reality and substitute my own." Adam Savage-Mythbusters

  #58  
Old 04-05-2016, 07:04 PM
XCashier's Avatar
XCashier XCashier is offline
Insert clever title here
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: At my computer
Posts: 6,995
Default

Quote:
Quoth PrplPplEater View Post
What is the Ad for? I'll take a look and see if I can remove it.
Funny how when you asked, the ad didn't show up for several days. I had to go onto Fratching to find it.

It's for The Blood Pressure Solution
bloodpressuresolution.com

Thanks!
__________________
I don't have an attitude problem. You have a perception problem.
My LiveJournal
A page we can all agree with!

  #59  
Old 04-05-2016, 10:47 PM
PrplPplEater's Avatar
PrplPplEater PrplPplEater is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 83
Default

Thank you, looking into getting it blocked.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Velcro

  #60  
Old 04-05-2016, 10:56 PM
Kogarashi's Avatar
Kogarashi Kogarashi is offline
Socks!
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right here. Where are you?
Posts: 2,557
Default

Quote:
Quoth PrplPplEater View Post
I am testing and posting this under IE11, and I'm seeing the Ads, so I know the browser does it. Inside a thread, there are only two ads - one at the very top, and one at the very bottom.

My thoughts are to check to make sure JavaScript is enabled - Google loads the Ads via JavaScript, and also to check to see what Add-Ons you have enabled - there may be something in there blocking without you even knowing.

Can you see Ads anywhere on other sites??
Hm, seems it's the Tracking Protection service built into IE11 that does it. I turned off Tracking Protection and the ads showed up. I'll leave that off for this site for now.
__________________
"Enough expository banter. It's time we fight like men. And ladies. And ladies who dress like men. For Gilgamesh...IT'S MORPHING TIME!"
- Gilgamesh, Final Fantasy V
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.