This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• They have a point...

As I've mentioned before I'm currently unemployed with very few prospects at this time

I recently started applying for positions in retail and customer service ( fields I worked in for years before moving here and trying to get a job with the feds)

So far I've had a couple of phone interviews 1 for a fast food job the other for a big box store They've both gone like this :

Manager: I see you have a business degree...
    Me: yes I have a degree in marketing
    Manager: ...and you have experience working for the federal government as well?
    Me: yes I do
    Manager: So I guess I shouldn't waste me time hiring you since you'll just leave as soon as you get a better job
    Me: ......

Seriously, what can I say to that ? its absolutely true but still There's no way I can convince someone I'd refuse a federal job to flip burgers all day for minimum wage

And I can't not put my education and 3 years worth of work experience on my CV

I want to work why won't they let me?

When asked that, you might add a twist saying that you are looking for possibilities to work yourself up through the corporate chain (clue: your degree in marketing). Might be not true, but it can still give you a chance to get an entry-level job.
    A theory states that if anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for, it will be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

Another theory states that this has already happened.

Comment

Just say what I've said before

"Listen. I'll be on the level with you. I need to eat, I'll work to eat, therefore I'll work my hardest for you during my tenure here regardless of how long it actually is."

It doesn't always work... NO GUARANTEES!

Comment

Quoth Pony_Boy View Post
        Manager: So I guess I shouldn't waste me time hiring you since you'll just leave as soon as you get a better job