This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I knew it would happen eventually...

I work as a receptionist at a drug/alcohol rehab. Anyone who calls the main number gets me. And only me - there's only one receptionist working at a time. Federal laws are fun - so we can't actually confirm that patients are actually there. Or that they've left. Or even their counselor's name so the caller can talk to them (cuz that would be confirming the patient is here).

When callers ask for a patient by name, I have to tell them I can neither confirm nor deny their presence. Most callers sadly say they understand, and I inform them that if they're in contact with anyone here to get their counselor's name. Most of the people I interact with (callers or waiting admissions) are not sucky.

I understand that family members dealing with a family member in rehab can be very frustrating and emotional, so I give my callers as much slack as possible. I'm firm, but apologetic. I truly sorry I can't let you know your son is here, especially since you're worried that he's either at rehab or doing drugs right now. But I can't.

I once had a call from out-of-state, saying that a patient (PT) was on the phone with them, but the call got interrupted and the male caller (CM) wanted me to tell PT to call them back. So I explained I couldn't take messages, nor confirm/deny, etc. So cM put his wife on the phone (CW) who I explained the same thing to. CW decided it was an emergency (yea right), so I put her over to the supervisor's voice mail. Well, CW called back, twice, with the same thing. Wanted PT to call her. Then didn't understand why I kept saying my can't confirm/deny line. I explained it was federal law. CW said they didn't do that in her state. (For those outside the US - federal law trumps state law.) After explaining to CW that since she had already left a message with supervisor, there was nothing more that could be done, CW got off the line.