This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Get a Tailgater to Back Off

Yesterday I went to visit some friends that live out of town, and didn't leave to come home until after 10pm. It takes about an hour and a half to get home from their place, and while it's 4-lane most of the way, it's through a rural area, so there isn't much traffic at that time of night.
    Anyway, about halfway home, a vehicle comes up behind me with their brights on and proceeds to tailgate for several miles. Even though it's four lane, I slowed down a bit to see if they would pass, but they didn't. Why they didn't just pass I don't know, but since it was just me and the little one, it kind of freaked me out. The next town was still a few miles away, so I did the only thing I could think of that I hoped would get the vehicle to back off. I'm a volunteer firefighter, and my vehicle is equipped with lights and a siren/PA. The PA has a mic similar that of a CB or law enforcement radio, and it hangs from my rearview mirror when not in use. So I grabbed it, and held it like I was talking to someone for a couple of minutes. I don't really know if the driver saw what I did or not, but they dimmed the lights and backed off pretty quickly. Thankfully, when I turned off onto another road, they didn't follow, and the remainder of my trip home was normal.

That's awesome.

Comment

My father was a driving instructor, and his tip for getting a tailgater to back off:

Slow down.

Make sure there's enough space between you and the car in front to cover for both of your reaction times - yours and the tailgater's - because you know he doesn't have enough for his.

And the process of keeping that space between you and the car in front is likely to annoy the tailgater enough that he'll actually overtake you - and be where you WANT him. In front of you, where you can keep an eye on him, and where YOU control the distance between you and him.