Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The Birds of the Air Proclaim Your Name...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Birds of the Air Proclaim Your Name...

...Cheep, Cheep, cheep.

It's been mentioned here before that rich people can be very tight-fisted. I saw an example of that yesterday that I could hardly believe.

For those who don't know I'm a Librarian who works in a museum. Our institution has the practise of putting catalogs in the galleries for visitors to consult. These books have holes punched in the upper left-hand corner. A chain is threaded through and the book is bolted to a table or shelf.

Visitors like these gallery catalogs. They can learn more about the objects on view than the labels tell. It's also nice for visitors of the show to know that the catalog is available in the Museum Shop. (Hint, hint buy the thing)

As can be expected by the end of a three to six month show, these gallery catalogs are more than a bit the worse for wear. The spines are broken. They're scuffed asnd rumpled. They're grubby. Often, pages are missing. In a popular show, the catalogs have to be replaced at least once. By the time they come out of the galleries, these books are ready only for the recycling bin or the shredder.

Today, we had a visit from a really wealthy patron of the Museum. He has been extremely generous to us. We're talking multiple million dollar donations. People like this naturally get VIP treatment from Museum staff. What he asked for was done in a polite way but we couldn't help doing (at least mental) jaw drops.

Our great benefactor asked if he could have one of the Gallery catalogs when the current show closed. We could understand this if he had loaned an object to the show. A Gallery catalog might be a sentimental souvenir of the exhibition.