This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Collection of sad tales

I didn't want to jack Sheldon's thread, so here's my collection of sad things from my job.

Kids
    I learned pretty quick that I can never work for <Other Hospital System>--specifically the downtown location because they are connected to the children's hospital. Sick kids are hard. I remember scanning a 16 year-old girl with ovarian cancer and several kids under age 5 with pheochromocytomas (adrenal gland cancer). But at least with the sick ones, no one is purposefully hurting them. While I was a student at that hospital, there was a string of bone scans on kids under age 2 for "non-accidental trauma". That's a nice way of designating possible abuse cases. I went home some days literally sick at what I'd seen. One little girl, about 18 months, was a severe case. Whatever happened to her caused VERY obvious brain damage. CPS had taken emergency custody of the little girl and only her foster mom was allowed to see her. She was cute as a button and an absolute angel for us. Never fussed. Although we had to keep a close eye on her during the scan to make sure she was still breathing.

More of an annoyance than anything
    Did a scan on an infant that took 2.5 hours. Baby was not happy and screamed the whole time. Parents nowhere to be found. Now, I get that when you have a sick kid sometimes you need a break. I should also mention Baby was on contact precautions. Guess who got to sit gowned-up and gloved-up for 2.5 hours trying to keep Baby's screaming to a minimum? That would be me. And what do wonder parents do when they wander back in? Sit with Baby and touch Baby with no protective equipment. Way to either catch whatever Baby has or make Baby even sicker.

Bone Scans