This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oh no you didn't...

Once upon a time when I worked as an IT Manager, I was responsible for the student computer labs. I took care of the lab spaces, the PCs, the user accounts, and the employees who oversaw the labs. I had numerous policies in place in order to keep things running smoothly and to prevent any old person from walking in and using the very limited computing resources (people would walk in off the street and try to use the labs).

One of these policies was that I do not create an account unless you are on my list of students that I get every semester, or until I've heard from the Undergraduate or Graduate office that you are enrolled in classes with us.

So one evening, on the first day of fall classes, I get a call from the Graduate Lab about a person claiming to be a student who was having trouble and was being very rude. I was busy training a new tech, so I figured, training opportunity, send the guy down.

Not exactly the training opportunity I had in mind.

The guy comes down and tells me he can not log in. SO I open Active Directory and ask him to write down his name and student ID number. He does so and I search AD student containers for both fields. Nothing. I search the entirety of AD. Nothing. I ask him if he was still a student? He says Yes. I ask him if he was supposed to have graduated in May or August? He says Yes.

AhHA! In May I would have gotten a list of graduating students, at the end of June, I disable all graduating accounts. At the end of August, I delete said accounts unless someone complained (sometimes a student was supposed to graduate in May, but had to finish up school work over the summer and still needed their account). So this gentleman had been deleted. He explained that he had been granted a special student status so he could take a few classes he did not get a chance to take.