Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any Canadian Self-Employed Members? Tax Help?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Canadian Self-Employed Members? Tax Help?

Alrighty, so, I was a contracted artist at a game studio in my city, but they had some financial problems so I was laid off/they let my contract expire a couple of months ago

I need to file my taxes (I live in British Columbia, Canada) but this was my first job since graduating, so it's my first time filing taxes for income I earned through self employment (oh, how I wish I had been an employee and I just got a nice, simple, T4)

Anyhoo. To my understanding, I need to file a T2125?

But the form confuses me... like, do I file for business income or professional income?

The form seems to be set up to be more retail business friendly... so trying to understand how to fill it out is a bit frustrating.

Can anyone help?

I was categorized as self-employed (was a surprise to me) after a year or so of freelance editing at a newspaper ... but I had The Big Green Tax Preparation Machine do my taxes. They said I would have to file that part of my income as a business tax (I'm not happy with the results but that's neither here nor there).

However, my advice would be to see if there are any low-cost or free tax clinics near you, where somebody can look at your specific situation and give advice based on that.

Comment

I'm not aware of any free ones, but there's a tax place near me, and I booked an appointment there today I've been to a different branch of this tax place, and they were pretty nice, I just hope that I have good enough records of my income.

Comment

Good luck! Here's wishing you a nice refund ...

Comment

Yeah, don't fark with it, take it to some place that does this professionally. My folks have been running their own business for years, but they don;t fark around with the tax side of it. They take it straight to H&R Block.