X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sigh

A pretty short tutoring one.

background: I tutor essay writing, among other things. Sometimes I get someone who wants me to proofread a short story they're doing. I'm a writer myself, so I know I am going to be very hard on them, and thus deliberately hold back.

I ask the customer, once I see that it is a short story, if they want me to just proofread it, or do they want me to make comments on the story as well.

They confirm they want me to make comments on the story.

It's very reminiscent of Divergent so far, with everyone being split into groups and that sort of thing. I point out that "Death camps" might not be the greatest name for a government to deliberately give to something, that they might use a more PC name, and then I guess the student decided I was too harsh as they logged off.

I'm sure it could have possibly been internet problems, but the timing was suspicious. First comment I make and they're gone?

Maybe they read the mention of "PC" and they misinterpreted it to mean you were oversensitive by the terms? That's really the best I can come up with. Although with some people, I wouldn't even put it past them to reply with, "Um, no I'm using a Mac."
    Fiancee: We're going to need to do laundry. I'm out of clean pants.
    Me: Sounds like a job for Gravekeeper!
    Fiancee: What?!
    Me: Nevermind.

Comment

I haven't gotten too many stories myself, but that sort of behavior is why I don't pull my punches. I'm politely blunt

Still, students signing off because we don't give them exactly what they want is frustrating
      My NaNo page

My author blog

Comment

When they asked for comments on the story, what they meant was, "Tell me how awesome it is."

Reality bites
        When you start at zero, everything's progress.

Comment

I've never understood that attitude. I'm a writer myself, and I've constantly looked for someone to read my stories with that kind of perspective.