This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My tax refund is WHAT??

I'm a student so am used to getting a hefty tax refund.

I thought I'd use this year's refund to catch up on some bills, get a few months ahead on the rent before summer hits and I go job-searching, etc.

Yeah, that $75 is gonna go really far ...

Oh, wait, no, it's not -- I owe the company that did my refund $92.

Any chance the company missed some stuff?

Preparers can make errors or be careless like anybody else. Just look here.
    Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard. Be evil.

"I never said I wasn't a horrible person."--Me, almost daily

Comment

I'd almost ask what company you used. I just filed mine, and it only cost 60 for federal and state filing.

And some other companies are offering to look over filed tax returns for free to see if they can get you extra money (course, you pay if you refile with them), so you might do that...
      My NaNo page

My author blog

Comment

Irving, that's certainly possible. From what I know at this point, I think at least part of the problem is that the Newspaper From Hell that I worked for last year didn't withhold any taxes. My income from them wasn't enough to make me owe anything (at least, not so far as I know!) but that means there wasn't any taxes to be returned to me. I've emailed my brother; perhaps he will be willing to take my stuff to whoever does his taxes and have them take a second look at it. Problem there is that he lives in a different province so I'm not sure whether his tax person would want to deal with out-of-province tax forms.