Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That is is NOT OK!!! (animals involved)

Well, that was a fun way to end the evening... I got to finish off my shift at Happy Pet Food Store* by yelling at a budding psychopath

(*not the actual name of the store)

There's a separate store-within-a-store that sells fish, reptiles, tarantulas, and all the associated gear and food for those. I'm a biologist, I have no problem with the fact that predatory animals need to eat other creatures, and if you've got a predator for a pet you take on the responsibility of getting that food for it. Circle of life, etcetera.

I do, however, have a problem when someone - a young man, about 22 - comes out from that area carrying some feeder mice in a plastic carrier, and decides to SHAKE THE CAGE, bouncing the mice all around and making them squeak piteously!

The Teacher Voice came out before I could even think. "What are you doing? STOP THAT! That is NOT OK!" He stopped, looking surprised. (I have that effect on people when I use that voice... and I was not making any pretense of being anything less than disgusted by his display of cruelty).

He came over and tried to tell me that it's fine to shake the mice, because they are going to be eaten be a snake later anyway. No dice, buddy. The snake has no choice in needing to eat mice. YOU, as a human being, have a choice and an associated responsibility in how you treat the mice on their way to the snake. And by telling me that the pain of a creature a thousand times smaller than you, that you caused, not only does not matter to you but is giving you some kind of power trip - well, you just lowered yourself considerably in my estimation. You're a damn sorry excuse for a human being, let alone the man you think you are.