This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A huge relief!

I am so burnt out. SO incredibly burnt out. I've been making fursuits/mascots for the last eight years, and for the last six it's been full time, with the longest break from it no more than a few weeks.

And I am so sick of it. So a couple of weeks back I decided to close down. I'll probably go back to it later, but for now I am finishing up my list of projects and not adding any new commissions to it.

And it's such a relief! Every time somebody has e-mailed me with a project, instead of groaning and yet feeling I have to accept it, I've been able to say "sorry, no!" It's been GREAT! Ha ha ha ha ha!

I am still sewing, it's my sole source of income so I can't quit altogether, but right now I'm concentrating on building my plush business, and it really is looking like I can do plush full time and have it work.

Course eventually I'm sure plushes will burn me out as well, but not nearly so fast. They are about a million times less stressful. They don't fail to fit. They don't have people do stupid stunts in them and break them and then blame me. They don't get sent back to me all gross for repairs. (I had a suit sent to me to fix that had been PEED in once, augh!) And they don't have people telling me I'm a terrible hack and a failure and a rip-off because my stuff isn't as good as some person who charges three times what I do. In plush making I'm not the cheap end of the pile, I'm one of the best there is, especially for larger plushes, there's really very few people doing what I do there. It's great.

Now if I can just get these last half dozen suits done! I wish I could just dump them and not make them, but I can't afford to give all those people full refunds. But once they're finished, I'll be free! Wheeeeee!
    The best advice is this: Don't take advice and don't give advice. ~Author Unknown

Nobody can give you wiser advice than yourself. ~Cicero