This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I hate my printer

OK, so I have an HP officejet 5610. It's a good printer, and it works fine on my mac but my windows machine won't even recognize it as a printer... I know it's not the cable because I tried it using the same cable on my mac and it worked fine. It's not the USB port because I tried other USB devices and they all worked... I tried reinstalling the driver (granted I didn't uninstall first, just ran the install over the old driver, which may be the problem)... but as far as I know I've tried everything... short of going all Office Space on my printer and buying a new one that will work on both my Mac and my Windows what can I try?
    If you wish to find meaning, listen to the music not the song

Maybe there's an updated driver that'd work better than the one you have....? That's all I can think of right now. I'm no expert, so I could be wrong.

I hate trying to get things working between my Mac and my Windows machine. *offers sympathy*
    1129. I will refrain from casting Dimension Jump and Magnificent Mansion on every police box we pass.
    -----
    http://orchidcolors.livejournal.com (A blog about everything and nothing)

Comment

There's a few options I can devise to try.

1. Disconnect the printer, completely uninstall the old driver, download a new driver from the manufacturer, and then run the install program for that driver, waiting until the installer tells you to connect the printer.

2. Use a Linux live cd (such as Knoppix), and try printing to the that printer. Even though other devices may work fine, there may still be an issue with the hardware in that machine.

Dammit, I had a third option, but it got up and walked away. I hate when my brain lets the ideas get their own legs. I'll respond later if I think of it again.

Comment