Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

This is about the most depressing thing that could have happened...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is about the most depressing thing that could have happened...

Gotta rant about this somewhere, might be kinda long.
    So I work as a graphics assistant for a little magazine. There are two people in graphics, me and the Graphics Director (GD). Basically I put together 2 monthly magazines, and he deals with putting stuff on the web and sending the magazines to the printers.

Recently I found out that GD was planning on leaving soon, and he was going to give the recommendation to the Vice President of the company for me to take over his duties, which honestly wouldn't add much to the responsibilities I had already. In theory this means I get put on as full time, salaried, with benefits, vacation, etc. Being young and just over a year out of college, I'm ecstatic.

So, the day he's handing in his resignation comes around, and VP calls a company meeting. We had somebody leave not too long ago, and a meeting was called for that, so I'm assuming this is about GD leaving. So what's the worst thing that could happen?

The meeting is more mundane, like you need to label your food in the fridge?
    VP didn't like the recomendation and wants help hiring a more experienced GD?
    Maybe VP didn't like the recommendation and wanted to fire me on the spot?
    Nah, any of those would have been far better.

Nope, GD hadn't even handed in his 2 weeks yet. The owner sold the magazine to another publisher far out of state, so we're all out of jobs in 2 weeks. Now we've got to rush out the last issue a week before the deadline, and morale in the office is just gone.

I know life isn't fair, but it's just so depressing to have that potential promotion built up for about 2 months, only to have it completely go away because of something I had no say in.
    It makes sense.