This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8mm to digital

Is it readily possible to convert 8mm film (and maybe later on super-8mm film) to a digital copy (computer file, DVD)?

So far what I've seen is shoot the movie on a wall and tape it. That's not for me and I see plenty of companies that do this (for a price).
    Quote Dalesys:
    ... as in "Ifn thet dawg comes at me, Ima gonna shutz ma panz!"

Well, I am NOT an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but other than "shoot on a wall and tape it" the only real option I can see would be to scan the film directly. There do exist what are called "motion picture film scanners" and some models can do 8mm and Super-8mm, but these are quite simply NOT in the home-videographer's budget; a quick google search showed them as being well north of $10,000 US.

Alternately, I'm sure there are companies out there that possess these scanners and offer film conversions to the public, but considering the price of the hardware I'd imagine the services are expensive as well.
    "We guard the souls in heaven; we don't horse-trade them!" Samandrial in Supernatural

RIP Plaidman.

Comment

Here's a list explaining conversion options.

I would try to find a company that will scan the film rather than video tape it against a wall.

Comment

I dunno what equipment you do have, nor have I even used 8mm (haven't even seen the film :P)

If you can play it on something with RCA or S-Video out, you can get video capture devices that connect to your PC via USB. I've got one, for recording VHS (well, anything with rca/s-video out) etc to PC.
        Or xbox footage
        "On a scale of 1 to banana, whats your favourite colour of the alphabet?"
        Regards, Lord Baron Darth von Vaderham, esq. Middle brother to mharbourgirl & Squeaksmyalias

Comment

Quoth ApolloSZ View Post
          I dunno what equipment you do have, nor have I even used 8mm (haven't even seen the film :P)