Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why should we pay you in full if the work provided by ourselves sucks?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why should we pay you in full if the work provided by ourselves sucks?

After my introductory posting under “New members” this is going to be my first “real” thread, so please be gentle.

[Background]As I have pointed out in my introduction, I’m a technical translator, mainly translating from English to German, my mother-tongue. As such I also work for agencies, which basically do the administrative stuff (and sometimes QA) while handing out the actual translation to guys and gals like me. Clients of such agencies are mostly companies that need one document translated into several different languages (think operating instructions, for example) and don’t want to go translator-hunting for each and every language. The agency choses a suitable translator from their database, gets back the finished document from said translator and return is to the client, after performing their own duties (QA, DTP …). All communication between client and translator usually happens via the agency.[/Background]

A few years ago I get a proofreading order from my favorite agency. This is basically the finished PDF version of a translation I have done in the past (usually plus material that has been re-cycled from the previous version of the product and which I have thus probably not seen before), which I have to check for any and all mistakes, be it spelling mistakes, grammar mistakes, missing sentences, mistranslations, layout problems … you name it. The agency issues a purchase order (PO) for my hourly rate based on the number of pages in said PDF divided by 10. So I have to read 10 pages per hour, which in 99% of the time is a generous estimate and usually it takes me considerably less time to finish such an order. But would I be posting this here, if this was the case here?