Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm not a lawyer. Can't/won't help you sue.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm not a lawyer. Can't/won't help you sue.

This guy was actually polite, imo, the suck was in his actual request from us.

Years ago I helped DH run a re-roofing company. No new construction and very particular commercial jobs. Almost all residential work, really. For 10 years we ran it in Western North Carolina in a wealthy area of the mountains. A lot of high-end 2nd, 3rd, 7th homes.

One particular estimate DH did was a pricey job that in that 1/3 of the total costs was contracting another company for flashing around several stone chimneys. The potential customer had a very distinctive last name and her first name was Duke (her actual name). She took the proposal, we filed a copy and didn't hear back.

A couple months later we drove by and saw she'd hired someone else. She lived off of a main road connecting our town to a more civilized area (read that:as in has a Walmart) so we didn't go to check but we couldn't help noticing as we drive by.

As the weeks and then months went by we saw the roof was not done and had blue tarps on it. For about a year.

At the year point since we gave the estimate, the husband calls us and starts explaining his situation. He hired a roofer that wasn't doing what he promised and he had leaks as his roof wasn't done. I asked his name and he gave me Duke's very distinctive last name. So while he was blathering on about lousy roofers, I pulled the original proposal and scanned it and let him know we'd estimated his roof last year. That threw him a bit and I explained that the estimate we'd given was high but it included us contracting Acme Sheet Metal to come and measure and fabricate specialized flashing on site for each of his massive stone chimneys. Four of them. At $2,200. Each.