This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Things I Can't Teach You

Ok, so, working in a DIY Home Depo like store in Australia, many of our team members have a skills that come from years of working in a trade like plumbing or electrical. These team members usually have name badges that describe them as a Plumbing/Electrical/Timber expert. These team members are great for helping with questions relevant to their field, but, there are some questions they can't legally answer.

For example: Although I'm not an electrician, my father is an electrical engineer and I have picked up a few things here and there.

If you want to know the most likely reason your power boards are shorting in your kitchen, I can probably tell you why if you give me a bit of info on what's plugged into it, where it is in the house, what you were doing when the short out happened. However, and this is important, I CAN'T LEGALLY TELL YOU HOW TO FIX IT.

And you better believe this is something customers bitch about on a regular basis. How unfair it is that they have to call a tradie out to fix their issue because the mean assholes at X Store won't tell them how to fix it themselves.

I had one guy today complaining endlessly because he brought a non functioning fan in that he bought last Summer. I had a look at it for him - looks like he took the plug out of the wall by tugging on the lead...and had pulled part of the inner wiring apart. He asked how to fix it. I informed him he needed to call an electrician as I was not legally able to provide him with the info he wanted. Cue a stroppy tantrum at the trade desk. Yelling, pleading, attempts at bribery. I had to explain multiple times that:
    1. If my boss finds out I'm fired.
    2. If you break your equipment, damage your house or electrocute your dumb ass after my advice I'M LIABLE.