This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The older generation

Just to set the scene a little, I’m a commercial landscaper but we do allot of tree work, felling and such. This day was just that, a simple tidy and fell, clean up and we get to go home.

The tree in question was a 40ft Silver Birch on the edge of a car park, so we had to drop it into the first 5/6 bays since there was a building to one side and we tend to leave a little bit more room then necessary since Mr. Murphy and his law tends to show up now n again. So we cone it off, place signs clearly stating that there will be men working overhead and that we will be felling this tree.

Around quarter to 9 the car park starts to fill up and most people can see what’s intended and what’s going on so they park well out of the way. Then this older gentleman pulls up, within inches of the cones, in his brand new Mercedes and starts leaning on the horn.

I ignore him for a few minutes as it’s a big tree and it’s getting close to the time when it should be dropping. Clearly this annoyed him as next thing I know he’s out of his car, stomping through the cones and tapping me on the shoulder. It went something like this

Me: The charming young landscaper
    SOG: Sucky old guy

Sog: WHAT THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING!!!!!
    Me: SIR, I NEED YOU TO STEP BACK BEHIND THE CONES (now admittedly this was shouted as I’m wearing ear protection and there’s a chainsaw going off not 10 feet away)

At this point I step through the cones and walk to the back of his car and he follows.

Me: What can I do for you?
    Sog: (Still shouting) THAT’S MY F***ING SPACE YOU’VE CONED OFF!
    Me: Well I’m sorry if that’s the case bu…
    Sog: (interrupting) I don’t care if you f***ing sorry I want them moved now

It’s around now I’m getting slightly peeved as he can obviously see what were trying to do and there are plenty of signs around the place.