This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why can't it ever be easy

I've been in post secondary education for a long time, partially because I keep graduating during a recession.

I've noticed a trend where schools have these hidden rules and surprises a lot of the time. This is my third school for the record. Schools really need to be more up front with their students about what is going on.

Background: I am a grad student, for my credit requirements beyond my thesis I am required to take 4 courses, 2 are independent reading courses I've already done and two are in class actual courses one of which I've done.

The fourth course is where the issue comes in, there are three possible choices to take, 2 are offered one year and the third the next flipping back and forth. I spoke to my supervisor asking him which course would be best for what I was working on and my current skills and he suggested the course that is on its own. So I did and I waited until my second year and signed up for it.

The day before the semester starts I email my supervisor who is listed as one of the teachers for the course what the schedule is because I can't find it anywhere. He tells me it's the same as an undergrad course. He is listed as one of the teachers for the course in the calendar.

See this course is an extension of an undergrad course, it overlaps about 70% and you have added extra work. I did not know this, and this is where the problem comes in. I took that course already for undergrad, so I ask him about that and he's the one that taught it at the time too. He says because of the extra work it's fine for me to take it. Ok problem solved right?

Quoth Kevin Spacey as Lex Luthor
    WRONG!