This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NASTY! Don't Read If Squeemish! Long

I've been working in ye old video store for around 5-6 years now. I have emptied the drop box many, many times and encountered all kinds of disgusting things from squished moldy food to urine soaked cover art.

Today's drop box ordeal took the cake for me though...

So, there I am- in a great mood- having a lovely day when I decide to check in some movies. Yea me. I grab a movie- from the opening that we slide the lock into the case comes ROACHES! GAH!

I promptly drop the case (still in drop box) and MORE ROACHES come running out!

Now, you may be wondering just how many roaches fit inside a DVD case?
    The answer is HUNDREDS!

They scatter everywhere! My CSR hands me a bag and runs away. I use the bag and grab the DVD case and take it outside where I drop it with a resounding THUD on the sidewalk- MORE ROACHES!

They swarm everywhere and I'm doing the Bug Stomping Dance while earnestly proclaiming, "EW! EW! EEEEWWWW! YUCK! EW!..." you get the idea.

I kick the DVD case away from me and it skids off the curb into the parking lot- roaches trailing behind.

I finally manage to get the DVD out of the case (discovering even MORE live roaches), squished roaches all over it, and the barcode I need to check it in.
    I left the case lying in the parking lot.

I discover that there were three more movies checked out on the account... I look with despair at the drop box (and the roaches visibly running around in it) knowing I HAVE to check the other three movies to see if they are as infested.

The answer is YES!!!! They were also infested! YUCK!

I had to go next door to the grocery store and buy Raid and Combats, soak the drop box and it's entire contents with bug spray and use security tape to close off the box both inside and out. The exterminators don't make emergency calls! I tried! They will be out today (Monday).