This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• There's stupidity and then there's stupidity

First post here. Great place to come and complain about the serious morons that I see in my job.

I'm a computer call center tech for a major cable company in the United States (though I actually live in Canada. Out sourced).

The sheer level of stupidity is sometimes shocking. And only some of it is from my coworkers (though they are another story altogether).

This particular call was from a woman that had dropped a coke on her modem.

Ick right? Well yeah. And most of us would just take a wet cloth with a bit of soap on it and wipe the modem down, then put it back.

But, not this woman. No, this woman decided to unplug the modem, fill the bathroom sink with water, then immerse the modem in the water. To clean it.

Then the idiot wondered why it wasn't working anymore.

And this isn't an old lady. This is a woman that you can tell is in her 50's. Someone that should have known better. Heck, even my 84 year old grandmother knows better and was shocked when I told her this story.

ya gotta love the older crowd who always does the craziest things with their computer equipment, next she will wash her monitor in the dishwasher...lol

Comment

Yeah, it's gotta be that generational thing.

(which I think is a myth, since it was my grandmother who got me interested in computer science in the first place)
      Desk-On: Apply directly to the forehead.

Comment

Reminds me of a couple of calls...

Quoth Moirae
        But, not this woman. No, this woman decided to unplug the modem, fill the bathroom sink with water, then immerse the modem in the water. To clean it.
        This reminded me of two calls when I worked at a certain outsource company for the defunct @Home.

Call #1
        C= Customer
        Me= Well, me

Me - **Opening stuff**"... how can I help you?"
        C - "Uhm, my modem is smoking and spitting sparks very bad, what do I do?"