X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "But I am late for me final!!"

First some background information pertaining to this post:
    According to the parking office & the university police chief, when Visitor parking is reserved for events, no students are allowed to park.

My co-worker told me about this particular incident which happened last Thursday, which was the 2nd day of finals at the university we both work at as Visitor parking attendants. Visitor parking was reserved that day for an event during her shift. This particular incident involved a student she dealt with before when Visitor parking was reserved for an event during her shift several weeks ago. This is what happened the last time she dealt with this particular student.

co-worker: "Hi, how may I help you?"
    student: "Hi, can I park?"
    co-worker: "I'm sorry, but Visitor parking is closed for an event. I cannot let you park."
    student: "But I am a student & I have a class to attend!!"
    co-worker: "I'm sorry, but I cannot help you. The garage is closed for an event. I cannot let you park."
    student: repeats herself
    co-worker: repeats herself

Several minutes later "Nancy", who works in the parking office, calls my co-worker & tells her to let that student park in the garage. The student returns to the Visitor parking booth, & my co-worker lets her into the garage.

For last Thursday's event:
    The same student arrives to park. Here is what happened.

co-worker: "Hi, how can I help you?"
    student: "Can I park?"
    co-worker: "I'm sorry, but the garage is closed for an event. I cannot let you park."
    student: "But I am a student, & I am late for my final!!"
    co-worker: "Well... you can call the parking office like you did the last time. If they tell me to let you park, then I will. I do not mind if you do that. I just have to get their permission."
    student: "But I do not have their phone number!! Do you have their phone number?!!"
    co-worker: "No, I do not."