This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Depression and treatment

Jester's post in Off Topic struck a chord with me. Once I'd written my response out, though, I figured I'd gone way off topic and it probably should be its own post in Sickbay.
    Quoth Jester View Post
    Now, I know this kind of advice does not bear on people who are clinically depressed or bipolar. I am not a doctor, psychologist, or psychiatrist. I have no mental health training, and I don't delude myself into believing that merely having a more positive outlook automatically erases life's ills and makes things better.
    Depression and other mental illnesses are being taken more seriously by the medical profession and the general public. There is treatment for them; it may take a while, but it is there, and I encourage anyone who's suffering to seek treatment, whether it be counseling, dietary changes or medication. There's no need to suffer.

I've suffered from depression most of my life. Usually, I could muddle through, but I've had episodes where it's just been awful. Had a really low point a couple of months ago. I was in for a regular checkup and my doctor asked me a few questions about depression and suggested medication.

Now, I was leery about medication, but I gave it a try. The first medicine I took (I can't remember the name, it was a SSRI starting with a C) kept me up all night with a racing heartbeat. That scared the hell out of me, so I called the doctor and asked if I could discontinue that medicine. He put me on a different medicine (buproprion). I was still nervous about it, but I took it, and so far, so good. It's been a few weeks and I'm feeling much better. On a scale of 0-10, I went from somewhere in the negatives to about a 7, an 8 on really good days. I will never be Little Mary Sunshine, I'm just not wired that way, but I'll settle for "reasonably well-balanced".