This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Fun" at the Doctor's Office (long)

Hi everybody! I'm new and this is my first post here. I posted a "hello" on the main forum, but in case you haven't read it, I'll recap: I'm an admin assistant at a university in the U.S., working to pay bills while my husband is in graduate school. My current job isn't too sucky, but I've had some pretty sucky situations in the past, one of which I'd like to share now.

I worked as a receptionist in a doctor's office a few years back during the months before my first semester of graduate school started. There were always lots of sucky patients, but this particular person took the cake.

Background: our office had a policy that new patients had to arrive 30 minutes early to fill out paperwork, no exceptions. Additionally, if you arrived more than 15minutes late to your appointment, you would be asked to reschedule. All patients are told this when they make their appointments.

So, one day this woman comes in with her newborn to get the baby's first check-up. Because the baby was a new patient, she needed to get there early for paperwork. The woman finally turned up 45 minutes past her appointment time, not to mention missing that 30 minutes early thing altogether. So, combined, she was an hour and 15 minutes late. Also, it was now past noon, and we didn't take appointments over lunch. I went and checked with the doctor (let's call him Dr. Doctorson) to see if he would see her anyway, and he said no.

I inform her of this and she seems fine with it, makes another appointment, and leaves. That wasn't the end, of course. About 20 minutes later, I answer the phone and a very angry man starts yelling in my ear.

SM: obnoxious, entitled jerk
    Me: appalled receptionist

SM: Yeah, my wife was just in there to see Dr. Doctorson and someone told her she couldn't be seen!