This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to deal with my grandmother?

I've recently had some really bad things happen in my life- I can't go into detail but it's put me in the middle of a mental health crisis that I'm trying to get treatment for. The holdup is with the clinic I'm going to, they managed to diagnose me as bipolar with my most recent episode as depressive (which confuses me because I've been nothing but depressed for several months with no signs of any manic episodes that would signal bipolar, but that's a point for another day), and generalized anxiety. I'm supposed to be medicated for it soon but as a state-funded clinic, it can take a while to get an appointment and they want several appointments for different things before they can medicate me. So right now, I'm trying to take care of myself.

My problem is my grandmother. I had to move back in with my grandparents and have absolutely nowhere else to go. My grandmother and I have never gotten along well but right now she's keeping me from taking care of my mental health the way I need to. She's one of the "suck it up, we didn't have anxiety in my day" variety, and because she worked in the medical field her whole life before retiring, she thinks she knows better than I do when it comes to my mental health.

Here's an example: my anxiety over the recent bad things is keeping me from sleeping well at night. I went to take a nap so that maybe I can focus when I go to class tonight, but she walked right into my room and told me, "Don't sleep during the day! You won't sleep at night!" So in other words, I need caffeine to get me through class. But wait! Caffeine makes me anxious, and she knows this! And being more anxious means I won't sleep, but of course, she knows best and it's her house that I'm living in until I can get out on my own again, so I have to do what she says.