This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anyone know

If it's legal to record at your workplace???
    My manager claims I didn't put enough cash in the drop. I'm 99.99 percent I did. My manager is a good guy, so I don't think he lying but he gets distracted easily. So I think he was counting and he turned around and the money accidentally fell behind his desk or something. Idk.
    Anyhow, I'm wondering because I want to record myself on my tablet putting in the drop in the safe so I have proof. I work by myself so I don't have witnesses to watch me put drop in safe. I live in the US. Any one know??? Thanks.
    Can't reason with the unreasonable.
    The only thing worse than not getting hired is getting hired.

I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on tv.

That being said: such laws vary frm State to State. Check local laws on the issue.
    "Life is tough. It's even tougher if you're stupid" Redd Foxx as Al Royal - The Royal Family - Pilot Episode - 1991.

Comment

VS is correct. Check local laws. Some areas ban it outright, some allow it with permission of one of those being recorded (after all, you could accidentally get someone else on camera, and you ARE recording your own hands doing the counting), some require multiple people's permission, some allow it if the location (store) allows it, etc. Remember, a place of business is private property, so what they say, goes; any given store may choose to be more restrictive than what the law allows for.

Perhaps more simply: if the store has security cameras that actually work (rather than just being decoys), ask that the footage be reviewed. The sooner, the better, as they may not be obligated to keep archived footage for more than a certain period of time.
      "For a musician, the SNES sound engine is like using Crayola Crayons. Nobuo Uematsu used Crayola Crayons to paint the Sistine Chapel." - Jeremy Jahns (re: "Dancing Mad")