This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Are you laughing at me?!" (long)

I'm a paralegal at a fairly large and well known traffic law firm. At the office I'm at the paralegals are almost 100% responsible for manning the phones and getting the initial details of any calls for the attorneys.

If it's a simple matter, anything not a DWR, DUI, DWI, DWS or accident related case we handle it ourselves. Today I got a somewhat standard phone call. The story of a person done horribly wrong by another attorney and wanting us to fix it for them.

Usually I have sympathy for these people but this woman was just impossible and seemed determined to take her anger towards this other attorney out on me.

ME: Thanks for calling (Law Firm), my name is Nic. How can I help you?
    LADY: (Talking fast and agitatedly.) I have a speeding ticket from two years ago that should've been taken care of.
    ME: Was the case handled by us?
    LADY: NO! I can't get ahold of her, this other attorney. I've tried and now I have a warrant out in (Insert Court). I've tried to get ahold of her but I can't and I need you to take care of this for me.
    ME: Do you know if the previous attorney has withdrawn from your case?
    LADY: I just told you! I can't get ahold of her!
    ME: I understand that ma'am but we can't enter on your behalf in (Court Name) until we find out for certain if this other attorney has withdrawn. The court will not allow it.
    LADY: I can't get ahold of her! I keep telling you! What should I do so I can hire you?!
    ME: (Sighing inwardly.) If you believe that calling on the phone is of no use then I would advise writing a certified letter to this attorney formally requesting they withdraw on your case. That way you have proof of contact with them and we can then present that to the court in a petition for withdrawal on your behalf.
    LADY: Then what?! I have a WARRANT.