This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "You must be new"

I've been working as a cashier at the hardware store for four years now (much longer than any other cashier, unfortunately). About a year ago, an elderly lady (more like crotchety) came through my line, and, naturally, paid with a personal check. My work requires phone numbers and driver license numbers to be written on the checks and circled, so I circled her phone number and asked her for her license. She pulled it out, flashed it at me, and put it right back into her wallet. I told her "Ma'am, I need to see the license in order to write down the license number on the check."

Her response?

She looks at me with this crusty look on her face and goes, "You must be new here."

Not only did her comment make no sense at all, seeing as how every place that takes checks does the same, but it was beyond rude of her to say that. And no, she didn't say it in a sweet tone of voice, she said it in a rude, condescending tone of voice. Working in a place where the average part-timer does not last longer than four months, I do take pride in the fact that I have been there as long as I have, and that lady really pissed me off.

Any other similar stories, where people belittled you by saying that you appear new, or anything like that?
    Last edited by theredbaron47; 07-12-2006, 05:03 PM.

I used to get regular abuse from customers when I worked at the 7-11. They expected me to remember what brand of cigs they smoked, what kind of pop they liked, even the sort of sandwich they usually ordered. Since my memory used to be pretty good, I did remember all those things--for the customers who were nice about it. The arrogant or nasty ones got my patented confused expression and no help whatsoever. Hehheh.

Comment