This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'But I was told to clean it!'

This is a tossup as to whether it fits best here or in chewing out co-workers...

A few years back I was a nurse working in the operating rooms. I'd been part of a project team that implemented an OR IT system, which had been in use for several years. I was also the 'first point of call (unofficial)' if there were any local PC issues, general trouble shooter and allround dog's body (plus pulling a full clinical load as well).

Well, one day I was heading off to my afternoon OR list, when one of my colleagues came to me and said he had a problem logging onto the computer in his theatre. I went to help him, and he said 'I think there's something wrong with the keyboard because I can't type in my user ID.'

I went to the computer, tried to log in - no go. The mouse worked OK (this was in the days before USB mice and keyboards, it had PS2 ports), so I checked if the mouse and keyboard had been swapped over. No, they're in the right spots.

Then I noticed the keyboard was sitting on a folded up towel. Whaaa??? I picked the keyboard up, and soapy water literally poured out of it. Double whaaa???

Well, on investigation... turns out another colleague had been told to 'clean the keyboard' by a senior nurse. Now, the 'guilty party' is a known clean freak - spends half his shift in hot soapy water up to his elbows scrubbing like a loony - but he wasn't computer savvy, at all. So he asked how to clean the keyboard (they couldn't have needed much cleaning as they all had skins, and were always used with clean gloves anyway), and was told 'don't be blimmin stupid, just damned well clean it!'

So he did. In the sink, full of hot soapy water, he scrubbed the bejesus out of the poor old keyboard. Then rinsed it, tried to dry it (fail!) and dutifully reinstalled it on the computer.