This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hissed at

I haven't posted in forever, because I got out of retail and have been working in community corrections for about 6 years now. I have a lot of things I WISH I could post, but usually I can't. Until this one.

I am a case manager. There are about 12 of us, when one of us goes on a vacation or takes an extended time off, they assign thier clients to meet with the other case managers. Clients have to meet with their case manager at least once a week.

So another case manager goes on vacation and assigns her clients to the other CM's. She notifies the clients by posted two large notes in the tech office (Where client's go when they need something like meds, or to sign in and out of the facility) and also gives each client a note of which CM they are going to see for that week.

I had 6 of hers that week, plus 8 from another CM who was out sick to add to my already extended case load of 31. No problem, weekly meetings are usually quick and easy. But three of hers have decided they aren't going to meet with me, and I am not one to chase people down to fulfill thier responsiblities.

When the other CM comes back, she writes up (disciplinary proceedings)the 3 who did not meet with me. That night I went over to that facility in order to file some paperwork. As I am walking down the stairs, one of the client's who failed to meet with me, looks up at me, bares her teeth, screws up her face and hisses at me like a cat. I just looked at her, and she does it again. I went to talk to the other CM and mentioned I really should have just started barking like a dog

In 6 years of community corrections, working with all kinds of people, I have NEVER been hissed at before

Don't we usually keep snakes in zoos?
    "If your day is filled with firefighting, you need to start taking the matches away from the toddlers…” - HM

Comment