This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• We Are Not Responsible for Your Impending Doom

My last customer of the night was a *real* gem.

He came in, and headed straight for the computer case fans.

Me: Do you know which size you need?

SC: *picks up a 120mm fan* "I think this will work. I need it to cool my refrigerator until tomorrow.

Me: ... I don't think that will work very well, sir. Why not buy a regular fan from CVS? *Thinking he was just going to hook it up to an empty case or something and aim it at the fridge.*

SC: It's just got to cool the compressor.

Me: I really don't think it'll last very long.

SC: It only has to work until tomorrow. I *know* these things, I'm an electrician. Only three wires, huh? Wonder which ones actually supply the power...

Me: Sir, I'm not even sure that will last 5 minutes. Seriously, you'll do better with a normal fan.

SC: Of course it'll work. 120, huh? So it'll work with 120volts.

Me: *realizing the full extent of his idiocy* That's the size of the fan, sir. It only takes *12* volts. It's designed to get all its power from the computer's power supply.

SC: But I *need* a fan!

Me: ... CVS sells regular fans, sir.

SC: Oh. I doubt it'll work, but *fine.*

And he left without the case fan, his tone and walk still making it clear he thinks *I'm* the idiot.

I'll be keeping my ears peeled for news of fires tomorrow.

Quoth Dragon_Dreamer View Post
    SC: Of course it'll work. 120, huh? So it'll work with 120volts.
    Y'know... I know CS doesn't condone inflicting harm on customers, or allowing them to do the same, but honestly, I probably would have shut up at this point and let him buy it.

Pumping 120 volts into a 12 volt fan would either cause a SPECTACULAR bang, turn the fan blades into a rapidly spinning plastic shuriken of death as the fan disintegrates, or both.