X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crazy situation at work

Long post.

I am dealing with a crazy situation at work, and I need some advice.

First, some background information relating to this post.

I was assigned to a different location through my employer, a parking company, for 6 years. I worked as a visitor parking attendant at a university. My immediate supervisor worked for the parking company. I also reported to the client supervisor at the university. At one point during my stay at the university the parking office took over the responsibility of the visitor parking garage. When I started working at the university, the visitor parking garage was one level. A couple of years after the parking office took over the responsibility of the visitor parking garage, that garage was renovated to include 2 additional levels. While that garage was being renovated, visitor parking was moved to the faculty/staff garage, which was adjacent to visitor parking. I was expected to assist customers at the window of the visitor parking booth, which was located outside the visitor parking garage, as well as customers who either 1) had difficulty exiting the garage because the token that they were given or purchased did not work or 2) pulled up to the wrong entrance gate and had to be turned around. There were times when I would be assisting a customer at the visitor parking booth when either number one or number two happened. There was a call box at each gate, but the parking office did not want to get any phone calls regarding customers having difficulty. I was supposed to prevent that from happening. I was supposed to assist the customer at the visitor parking booth window as well as the customer who was having difficulty all at the same time. I could not do that, and when the parking office received a phone call from the call box, I would get a phone call from them. I would let the person calling know that I was assisting a customer at the visitor parking booth win