X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Last month was awesome

And it was.

Background, I work as a machinist in a high-precision milling and lathe shop, with tolerances as little as .0003 of an inch. A piece of paper is .0035 inches. Normally I work night shift, 4pm-2:30am, I rather enjoy it with the $2/hr differential pay.

We have 2 types of workers, Operators and Set-up Techs. No pay difference (other then normal pay raises, you have to have some time there before they will train you), but Set-up Techs do have more responsibilities, and they are looking to put official Set-up techs on night-shift. I want to move up, so I volunteered (before I even knew they were wanting Set-up techs).

I fully expected to lose my differential pay, I wanted to go to days to learn (as there is no one on nights capable of teaching). I was re-balancing my budget while waiting on a part to get done when the Floor Supervisor came over to see how I was doing. We talked a bit, and I mentioned that I had almost figured out my budget (Alot easier when I took into account the taxes, 22-25%, instead of a$160/paycheck difference, it is $120). He thought that I should keep my differential because I was helping out the company so much (they really wanted set-up techs on nights) and asked HR and the President about letting me keep it. THEY AGREED So I am loving my bosses. I made sure to thank the President profusely. (I love small companies )

I also started my GD&T Training. GD&T is "Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing" a logical, mathematical, international language used on blueprints, designed to simplify communication between designer, engineer, and manufacturer.
    I have done 2 hours twice a week for a month now. Gone through 2 fresh pens (as in out of ink), and almost a full notebook. I am only 2/3rd of the way done. But I am loving it. Also, I can do this back on while back on night shift.