This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I must make the web admin love me!

First post! It's not as, uh, dramatic as some stories I've read here, but it made me want to alternately laugh and bang my head against my keyboard...

I currently work as a web admin for a fairly large company in the UK. We're quite a small department, so we get all the junk that IT and customer services don't know how to deal with (or don't want to). I've only been there for two months but I'm learning fast, and I'm being given all the fun problems "to help me learn". Yay me.

The latest one was a lovely man - he was very polite, if a little abrupt at the end. He emailed me at about 11am to say "I'm trying to do a webpage and the border doesn't work, help!" I haven't got anything else urgent so I take a look. It's something I learned how to deal with a few days before (for web people, he'd put a link in without breaking it and it was too long for the width of the page, so the central text was pushed down). I put a break in, and lo and behold, it fixes his problem! I was really happy that my fix worked.

Too easy.

Next email. "Thanks! Uh...how do I fix the link in the border?"

He doesn't tell me which border he's trying to use. Go in, find the webpage, find the border, get one of the web team to unlock it from him to let me get at the wretched thing, fix his link, add a button he forgot he needed and then couldn't find, and push it live so he can see it.

"Brilliant, thanks so much. Can you help me fix the links in the text too? They don't work for some reason."