This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Heat Works

I decided my first story should be a new one, not one I've posted elsewhere on the internets, though it's a fun story to tell when I want to hurt people's brains. This happened about a year ago.

I'm a department manager at a pet store. I get called up front by a cashier that can normally handle customer complains on his own. He doesn't give me any warning, just directed me to the woman standing there with an aquatic heater.

SC: I bought this heater 6 months ago. Today, I pulled my heater out of my aquarium and it got really hot!
    Me: Did you unplug it?
    SC: No.
    Me: That's why. Anytime you take your heater out of the water you have to unplug it.
    SC: I took it out to clean the tank and sat it on a plastic thing. It melted the plastic!
    Me: ...yes, you have to unplug it.
    SC: It shouldn't get that hot! My house temperature is the same as the temperature in the water! There's no reason it should get that hot! When I put it back in the water it started boiling!

I admit, she broke my brain for a bit here and she got the first thing that came to mind.
    Me: That's how heat works.
    SC: I'm a SCIENTIST! You don't have to tell me how heat works!

At this point, I decide it isn't worth the argument.
    Me: If you think something's wrong with the heater, you'll have to call the manufacturer since it's past our 30 day return policy.

She got mad, and just bought a new one. The cashier was having a really hard time keeping a straight face during this whole ordeal and it still gets brought up from time to time.

She's a scientist that can't handle basic aquarium equipment...maybe take her fish away and give her a nice plant to see how she can handle that for a while before upgrading again...
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.

Comment