X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rentals - or Why Your Landlord/Tenant is the One You Should Be Screaming At

Good evening all!

I am new to the message board and having crept around reading everyone else's stories for a while, thought that since I have now posted on another thread, I should introduce myself.

I work for a rental company, reasonably sized, which means that I spend most of my time getting screamed at by landlords and tenants. Much fun. I don't want to get into the various happenings too much now, but here's just a few highlights:

- the crazy lady who yelled for twenty minutes about her broken shower and why we weren't fixing it (your landlord does his own maintenance which you already know, go bug him)

- the landlord who yelled in various phonecalls/emails about why we wouldn't send out our maintenance people (we have to take the money upfront, but we dont pay the contractor till after its done - non-negotiable because otherwise certain people end up not paying at all and we get taken to court by contractors which tends to annoy the boss)

- the people who call and yell only to reveal that they are not the tenant (sorry, your little darlings will have to call themselves, I can't talk to you )

- the people that read their contracts and conveniently ignore the bits that tell them precisely what to do (don't behave like a complete animal, preferably!)

And of all these? I like the people who swear - because I can hang up on them.

Glad your management allows you to deal with people cursing at you in the appropriate manner ...It really is the best way, as responding to them in kind would get YOU in trouble for yelling at the sweet, innocent tenants -- Sooner or later, they'll get the message.

SC: What the f--- is goin on with my repairs!?

*click* *ringring*

SC: Hey! Did you just f---ing hang up on

*click* *ringring*

SC: You asshole-

*click*

Eventually, they'll either get the message or stop trying. Either way, problem solved!