This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doing well... by doing nothing

The call actually began with a lot of promise...

Caller: I need to delete my wife.

Okay... but things immediately hit bottom and never again attempted to rise.

Me: Exactly what do you mean?
    Caller: What I'm trying to do is... whenever I go to... but then, it always... like now, I went to... but then when I... I keep getting... but I should... okay, let me try this... no, that didn't... see, I need to... but... well, anyway...

And on and on and on... I was just along for the ride... five minutes... ten minutes...

Caller: ... okay, I just... but then... no, look, that worked! Thanks!
    Me: Cool. Anything else I can help you with?
    Caller: No, you did great. If I have any more problems, I'll give you a call.
    Me: That's what we're here for.
    I was neat, clean, shaved and sober, and I didn't care who knew it. -- Raymond Chandler

When I worked as a computer programmer we would use colleagues as MAUDs. (Mobile Assistant for Unassisted Debugging)

You call the colleague over, state the problem, and half way through explaining how the program works you would shout "Damn, that's where the problem is"

No matter how many times you tried the find the error solo, it was always easier to find it when you spoke to someone else, with the rider that the more they said to try to help, the longer it took to find the error. It worked best if they said nothing, just stood there and listened...

Comment

I've done that, most recent that I can remember, I was trying to figure out why a remote display was not lighting up when a unit when into alarm. While talking to a co-worker over the phone, I realized that they way it was wired up, it would only work in full-alarm, not test mode like I had been trying to use. Told my CW "thanks for listening to me babble while I figured this out!"

Comment

Quoth Bagga View Post