This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In which I introduce myself to the forums and share the wonders of my night

First of all, Hi, newbie here who recently stumbled on the site, and have thus fallen in love with the forums.

Now, I WAS going to go on about some of the general customer types I get working at a college bookstore, but tonight was hell. So, yes, I'm sharing the joys from tonight.

Now, we're in the middle of summer sessions, so it's a shorter turnaround time, and as a result, we've shortened the return dates. We're not going to give people a month to return books, when the classes themselves only last a month. Now, we've had people come in past the refund date (this last friday) and attempt to return books. We can't give them their money, but we offer to exchange it for the correct book if they have it. If they don't they can sell the textbooks back because we buy books back year round.

Here's hoping I've set the stage so far. On to tonight!

Episode 1
    So, I had a gentlemen come in, saying he wanted to sell some books back. I agree to help him, go through the process, and upon first glance at the books, I see they look to be water damaged. I don't know how bad they are, so I have to look through them to see if they have any resell value. I'm thumbing through them and that's when I see the stains.

And the smell...

Someone (or something?) had urinated on the books. On all four of them.

After doing the "icky stinky shudder dance" I inform the guy we can't take his books back. They're too damaged. He starts screaming at me that I'm a liar, they're not damaged and I'm gonna take his G**D*** books and give him some F****** money because he did everything he was supposed to.