Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wherein I get my first doses of suck (Somewhat long)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wherein I get my first doses of suck (Somewhat long)

Hello everyone, long time lurker, first time poster so please don't rip me into too many shreds.
    (BG): I was recently hired for my first job (I am 17, this will be important later on) at a large chain of grocery stores in Wisconsin. I am working as a cashier so I am still learning the idiosyncrasies of our systems, but that's another story for another day and section. Of course this means that I have had my first encounters with sucky customers, so here goes.

Encounter #1 - Crazy Coupon Lady (or Curse you Coupons.com)
    Me: Yours truly
    CC: Crazy Couponer
    T: Manager on Duty
    Me: Standard opening spiel (Find everything alright, rewards card, yadda, yadda, yadda)
    Me *Notices that there is 1 customer but 4 similar orders, but being a newbie pays it no mind*
    The first 2 transactions go normally but with some minor hiccups, but that is to be expected with the sheer number and variety of coupons she was using. The end 3rd transaction, however is where all hell broke loose so I will pick up our saga there.
    CC: "I would like to use these coupons" *hands stack to me*
    Me: "OK, no problem" *sorts coupons since I was told by T after the 2nd transaction that things go smoother if you scan manufacturer coupons 1st*
    Me: *Starts scanning coupons and notices that some of them just won't scan and I have trouble making the UPC out (as it turns out they were 2nd or 3rd generation copies), I leave them in a separate pile off near my till*
    Me: "Your total is $XX.XX"
    CC: "Did you use all my coupons?"
    Me: "Yes, however some of them couldn't be entered, there is nothing more I can do here, you would need to go to Customer service"