This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4-year-old Fight Club and other stories

So your friendly neighborhood quilter has a new part time job. I work as an aide at my son's school. I help out in the lunchroom - opening food, getting drinks, plastic ware, napkins, condiments, cleaning tables and vacuuming (yes our lunchroom is carpeted). After 2 hours of lunch, I head into the 3 and 4 year old room to supervise playtime for an hour and a half.

This is a small school, about 85 kids from 3 years up to 5th grade. Most of the kids are awesome and they think I'm one of the most fun "teachers" there - since I can draw, love dinosaurs and speak japanese. Plus I sewed my own apron to carry around stuff.

Of course there are a few kids that for whatever reason act like brats. They'll talk snarky and treat me like a servant. Or they will ignore me when I come to the table asking if anyone needs ketchup then complain that they didn't get any. After a couple of weeks, most of them have learned to say "please" and "thank you" to me.

The littles in the afternoon just love me. We play and color pictures and just be silly sometimes. But the littles have so much drama! I thought High School was bad, but it's got nothing on 4 year olds.

There are 2 girls that are best friends, but one of them is a little diva and calls the other one an idiot and hits her and takes toys away from her all the time. She likes to try to boss me around. Notice I said "try"