This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Microsoft my ass

So in the last few months I've had a couple of customers who have received phone calls from "Microsoft" saying that their computer is infected and sending out viruses... and they will happily remotely connect and fix the problem for you! Isn't that helpful!

It's all bullshit, of course... it's some group of scumbags from another country who literally go right through the white pages calling each person and hoping they fall for their schpiel... which results in their data getting hijacked and their computer getting infected with god knows what.

I've gotten a couple such calls myself... I try to have fun with them... tell them I have an Apple computer (I don't) and ask why Microsoft is contacting me about an Apple. The last time the guy stammered some reason but finally realized I was onto him and hung up.

Next time they call me I'm going to tell them I'm an FBI agent and the call is being traced. What're they gonna do - have me arrested?

Curious if anyone else has dealt with this nonsense and if you had any fun messing with the scammers.

Mom had them for almost a hour once before she said she didn't have a computer.

Comment

I actually got one of those calls! I told them no and hung up.
      https://www.youtube.com/user/HedgeTV
      Great YouTube channel check it out!

Comment

My mom got one of those when I was visiting. She knows enough about computers to send email and surf the 'net but that's it. She had no idea what the guy was talking about and said 'Here, talk to my son, he does computers for a living.' There was no one on the line when I got the phone. Busted.
        A fact of life: After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says W T F.....

Comment

My boyfriend's mother had thie exact thing, but it was supposedly the ISP calling.

And be careful, I'm sure imperonating an FBI agent can actually get you arrested if the scammers know that and report you.